spiritchrysalis: (ChoreWars)
[personal profile] spiritchrysalis
Edit: [livejournal.com profile] ab3nd has found a subletter. Thanks!

Are you looking for an apartment, or know someone who is?

Is cost-effectiveness important to you? Say, $500 a month without utility split?

Are you looking for ease to public transit, like right on the corner of a frequently running bus line?

Would you enjoy living with a friendly, open-minded, introverted geek?

If so, I have your apartment!

My boyfriend [livejournal.com profile] ab3nd is looking for a housemate to take the place of the grad school/lab subletter as of 2/5 (or as close to that as possible). His place is pretty cool too; it's in Belmont a bit past BCOS for those who know it, right at the corner of a very regularly running bus line. If I was available and he were similarly inclined, I'd consider the space!

Here's a chunk from his Craigslist ad. If you're interested, comment here and I'll put you two in touch. (You can also try to contact him via LJ, but I would not consider that a reliable method.)

My housemate is going back to Turkey on the 5th of February, so I am looking for a new housemate to move in around then.

I'm asking $500 and half of the applicable utilities (heat and power required, internet optional). Half of the utilities with internet tops out near $150 in the dead of winter and drops to around $60 in the summer. The heat is forced air, heated with gas, so the gas bill is the real killer.

That gets you the room and the use of the living room, bathroom, and kitchen, refrigerator space and pantry space. The kitchen doesn't have enough counter space, but I don't think they ever do.

The room is a square about 12 feet on a side, with one corner lopped off for a door. It has a closet and two windows. The windows face northeast, but the room still gets good light. The room, and all of the apartment, has hardwood or tile floors. The room is away from the street and the front of the building.

There is storage in the basement, and washer/dryer hookups, but no laundry machines. There is a laundromat about 300 feet away.

The building itself is a triple-decker apartment building, with front and back stairs, but no elevator. It is located in Belmont, near the border with Waverly.

If you have a car, there is a reserved off-street parking space. If not, the local transit options are the 73 bus line (about 30 minutes to Harvard Sq., bus stop is half a block away), and the Fitchburg line of the commuter rail (A few blocks away). Alewife station is about two miles away and has a (recently improved!) bike lane for significant stretches of the distance.

There is a Shaws' Supermarket in walking distance, Whole Foods and Trader Joe's within convenient biking distance, and nice parkland within a few blocks.

Smoking is not allowed in the building, and I don't want to live with animals (pets or the guy from the muppet band).

I'm a graduate student in computer science and an engineer/electronics nerd with occasional pretensions of artistry. I use one room of the house as my electronics and general hacking lab. I'm an introvert, but you probably figured that out when I mentioned the computer science. I'm generally quiet but not antisocial. When I do make noise, it's usually a few minutes of power tools at reasonable hours, not a billion decibels of bass at 4AM.

I'm male. I mention this because it's important to some people, not because I care if you're male, female, other, vampire, dragon, etc.

for a friend

Date: 2012-01-30 04:14 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] erik-j-meyer.livejournal.com
I have a friend that will be looking for other living arrangements soon. Do you have the craigslist listing that I could forward on to them?


spiritchrysalis: (Default)

February 2014

16 171819202122

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Sep. 26th, 2017 07:29 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios